APA Nationals 2016!

A little recap of this season’s final tournament!

Peggy Ferebee competed on a mix section in the Ladies division and faced some tough competition. Although they didn’t win their games, Peggy enjoyed playing in this division and enjoyed catching up with old friends while making new ones.

Our C grade team exceeded expectations and almost snuck away with a 1st place win. They played very well despite having some mishaps including horses going out as late as the night before the tournament began. Unfortunately, they had 1 bad game and it just happened to be against the team that they needed to beat in order to take 1st. Despite this, as a team they gelled well and really put on a show. Congrats on bringing home the silver. Ally Kimbrough also came away with best #1 for the division and Manny Diemer came away with best #2 for the division – congrats Ally and Manny!

Andrew Diemer and Sara Cifelli played on a mixed B division team and they rocked all weekend. This team played as if they had played together several times and really showed great teamwork. They had an intense final that was thrilling to watch and at the end, they ended up taking 1st place! Andrew Diemer also came away with best #2 for the division – congrats Andrew! Way to go guys!

Our A grade team played in some seriously tough competition and had some very close games. Being a young team with limited practice certainly affected the way the team played, but we gave it our best shot. We had our 2 toughest games on Friday and despite a comedy of errors in the 1st game, only ended up going down by 2 goals. The 2nd game was also a close one that ended in a 5 – 6 goal deficit. This put us in the 3rd / 4th place final in which we came out victorious by 3 – 4 goals. I think all 6 players were a bit disappointed as we feel that we could h ave done much better and left a lot of plays out on the field, causing us to miss a spot in the finals. At the end of the day, everyone had a blast and it was fun to play against such good competition. Rahul Desai came away with best # 1 for the division and Special came away with best horse for the division.

Rahul Desai was also awarded the “Umpire of the Year” award.

The “Boxter Memorial Trophy” for 2016 was awarded to “Pucho” who belonged to Steph and Billy Shuttles.

A big shoutout goes to Kate Lahr who made all of the club rosette’s for the weekend and to Paige Vallee who organized getting all of the ribbon and made a lot of of the browbands for the weekend. Thanks to their efforts, CPC looked pretty sharp while playing. Please see the attached photo which was taken during the parade of colors.

And as an extra bonus – the USA Polocrosse 2019 World Cup long list was reviewed and updated after the nationals, and CPC is proud to have all 6 members who represented our A grade side be named to the list…way to go guys!

Eastern Zone Championships 2015 Results!

Well it was a very wet weekend for Eastern Zone Championships but everyone played safe and had a good time despite mother nature. Thank you again everyone who helped make EZ another successful tournament!
Here are your results!
Ladies Division:
First Place Donna Ellis, Sarah Dansission, Julie Davis
Second Place: TJ Watson, Mel Watson, Michelle Morring
Third Place: Deb Zito, Peggy Ferebee, Sharon Stroh
Best Player: Donna Ellis
Best Horse: Leo
E Grade:
First Place: Carolina
Second Place: Sugarloaf
Third Place: Heartland
Best #1 Paul Schnatz, Best #2 Ella Lavorgna, Best #3 Jenna Taylor
Best Horse: Snickers
D Grade:
First Place: Bay Area
Second Place: D Mix
Third Place: Carolina
Best #1 Madison Church, Best #2 Bennett (Zambia), Best #3 Tyler Webb
Best Horse: Pilar
C Grade:
First Place: Carolina
Second Place: Sugarloaf
Third Place: Heartland
Best #1 Erin Strider, Best #2 John Church, Best #3 Ally Kimbrough
Best Horse: Aspen
B Grade:
First Place: Sandie Creek/Charlie Horse
Second Place: Carolina/Bay Area Mix
Third Place: Sugarloaf
Best #1 Kaylee Camp, Best #2 Julie Dault, Best #3 Kate Lahr
Best Horse: Waylon
A Grade:
First Place: Tennessee Valley/Bay Mix
Second Place: Carolina
Third Place: Sugarloaf
Best #1 Braxton Hamlin, Best #2 Sarah Desai, Best #3 Rahul Desai
Best Horse: Special

Club News 2015

Carolina Polocrosse members selected to participate in the U21 tour to New Zealand. Kate Lahr, Crawford Liner and Kat Liner were selected to represent the United States on the Under 21 Player Development team to travel to New Zealand this December.

Carolina Polocrosse members selected to represent United States. Wade Liner and Kat Liner along with Becher Cole from Maryland were selected to participate in the Albury Classic in New South Wales Australia April 8-12 2015. They will be a part of this great coach and player clinic and get a chance to play with top level juniors in Australia.